Board of Trustees

As noted in Article III of its statute, UNIDIR's work programme is overseen by the Board of Trustees, which also serves as the United Nations Secretary-General's Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters. Board Members, knowledgeable in the fields of security, arms control and disarmament, are selected by the United Nations Secretary-General for an initial two-year term.

Members of the 2019 Board of Trustees

H.E. Mr. Steffen KONGSTAD (Norway)
Chair of the Board of Trustees
Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Norway to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, Vienna
Ms. Setsuko AOKI (Japan)
Professor of Law, Keio University, Tokyo
H.E. Ms. Selma ASHIPALA-MUSAVYI (Namibia)
Ambassador, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of International Relations and Cooperation of Namibia, Windhoek
Mr. Corentin BRUSTLEIN (France)
Research Fellow, Security Studies Center, Institut Fran├žais Relations Internationales, Paris
Ms. Lucia DAMMERT (Peru)
Associate Professor, Universidad de Santiago de Chile, Santiago
Mr. Lewis A. DUNN (United States)
Former U.S. Ambassador to the Review Conference of the Parties to the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, Virginia, United States of America
H.E. Mr. FU Cong (China)
Ambassador, Director-General, Department of Arms Control, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China, Beijing
Ms. Arminka HELIC (United Kingdom)
Member, House of Lords of the United Kingdom, London
Mr. Anton KHLOPKOV (Russian Federation)
Director, Center for Energy and Security Studies, Moscow
H.E. Mr. Amandeep GILL (India)
(on sabbatical from the Advisory Board)*
Ms. Merel NOORMAN (Netherlands)
Assistant Professor, Tilburg University, Tilburg, Netherlands
H.E. Ms. Enkhtsetseg OCHIR (Mongolia)
Ambassador of Mongolia to Sweden, Stockholm
Mr. Abiodun WILLIAMS (Sierra Leone)
Director, Institute for Global Leadership, Professor of the Practice of International Politics, The Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University, Medford, United States of America
H.E. Mr. Motaz ZAHRAN (Egypt)
Ambassador, Deputy Assistant Foreign Minister for Cabinet Affairs, Cairo
Ex officio member
Ms. Renata Dwan, Director, United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research, Geneva

* Amandeep Gill is on interim leave as an official of the Government of India and is currently a temporary staff member of the United Nations Secretariat.